30 Day Blogging @ York U Challenge

DAY 5 >> 30 Day Blogging @ York U Challenge


Post a picture and talk about someone or something that made an experience at York special

I hate to be really cheesy about this, but I’m going to anyways. These two wonderful ladies, Monika (left) & Michelle (right), have made a number of experiences for me at York very special. So, in order to fully embarrass them, I’m going to talk about them for a little bit.

image

When I first came to York for my enrolment appointment, I was scared out of my shorts. I cannot even begin to describe the anxiety on that day, especially when I first sat down in front of the computer at the LAPS Faculty office. However, it all changed as soon as I stopped by the RED Zone, where both Michelle and Monika (and the rest of last year’s RED Zone staff) were waiting with an open door and a smile. I spoke with Michelle and a number of other former RED Zone staff, and Michelle in particular got me super excited about coming to frosh at Vanier College.

When I came to frosh week, I was, once again, extremely nervous and afraid. One of the things that helped me the most was definitely being able to see a familiar face or two – Michelle and Monika, from the RED Zone! I got to know the two of them (as well as many of the other frosh bosses and council members) more and more as the ten days of frosh progressed, and eventually I felt right at home with my new York family.

And now, at my new job at the RED Zone, both Michelle and Monika have been wonderful colleagues and mentors, and I am extremely privileged and thankful to have gotten to know the both of them.

Monika & Michelle, you guys are fantastic! 🙂

~ Christopher Ford

image

p.s. I’m the one on the far left! I’m pictured here with the current RED Zone team, which includes myself, Morgan, Michelle, Monika, Tori, Nicole, & Michael (from Left)!

Standard

Leave a Reply

