30 Day Blogging @ York U Challenge

DAY 11 >> 30 Day Blogging @ York U Challenge

Write about the worst on-campus experience you’ve ever had (and how to avoid it)

Okay. Back from another break. I think I truly underestimated how tough it would be to keep up with this for 30 straight days! Especially when there is a long weekend up at the cottage in between! But, I will try my best once again to get back on track.

I think I have come up with sort of a solution so that I can keep up with the Challenge – I am going to write a post for the challenge every second day (starting today), and hopefully that will try to ease the load a little bit!

Anyways, back to the question.

This one is a tough one. To be honest, I haven’t had too many bad experiences on campus that I can attribute to York – most of the time, when I was having a bad experience, it was due to something else going on in my life.

However, I will tell you of the recent trouble that I had during course selection, and I will try to let you know the easiest way to avoid it!

As I’m sure many of you had heard, picking courses for your second year can be rough. Coming into first year, you have a set enrolment appointment – either online or in-person – and you will usually have someone there helping you out along the way. In second year, however, you’re on your own for the first time. And on top of that, you will usually have the worst possible enrolment date and time (which you are allotted based on your year, program, etc). In short, if you aren’t properly prepared, it’s a recipe for disaster.

This was my situation. Although I already had a general idea which courses I wanted to take, I didn’t have it all lain out in front of me due to me forgetting all of the notes that I made at home! As a result, I had to spend twice the amount of time picking courses, and I didn’t get into many of the courses that I had wanted.

I did end up picking a good schedule, thankfully; however it could have been much worse. I have heard horror stories of people not even being able to get into their required courses (which is not a very common thing to happen), or that they are forced to take full coarse loads of things they despise.

However, this can be easily avoided. Although you may not always receive the best enrolment date, or maybe the courses that you want end up being full before you even get the chance to enrol. But the best way to make sure that you get at least some of the courses that you want, make sure you do the following two things!

  1. ENROL ON THE DATE YOU ARE GIVEN
    Don’t choose your courses the day after. Don’t choose your courses the week after. If your enrolment is on June 8 at 4 pm, pick your courses on June 8 at 4 pm. Courses fill up quickly, so if you are looking to get into the ones you want, be prepared to start enrolling right when your enrolment opens!
  2. GO INTO ENROLMENT WITH A PLAN
    You may have an idea of what you want to take. But unless you have the course names and cat #’s typed out/written out close by, you will have to waste valuable time searching for them when you could be enrolling! Before your enrolment opens, come up with a general idea of what you want to take during the upcoming session – make sure to have at least 4 back-ups, just in case the courses you want are full!

Similarly, if you are a new student coming in the fall, make sure to come up with your own plan, and don’t miss enrolment appointment – if that happens, you’ll have to make another appointment for later in the summer, which might mean less available courses for you!

Hopefully that will make your life during enrolment a little easier! 🙂

~ Christopher Ford

Standard

One thought on “DAY 11 >> 30 Day Blogging @ York U Challenge

  1. nikkinatrium says:

    Especially in your second year! Second years are generally given the latest enrollment times, so make sure you enrol as soon as you’re allowed!

Leave a Reply

