30 Day Blogging @ York U Challenge

DAY 13 >> 30 Day Blogging @ York U Challenge

If you could rewind time back to high school, would you have chosen to work (if you had a guaranteed job) or to get your degree?

I really don’t even have to think about this one – I would definitely choose to get my degree.

There are many benefits to being in school – especially at York University. First of all, I love learning; what better place to learn than at university or college? I know there are jobs in which you are learning new things all the time, but at this point in my life, I’m most enjoying my job as a student, where almost all I do is learn!

Second, why not have a great time while you’re learning? There are tons of ways to enjoy your time outside of the classroom, such as through clubs, councils, college life, intramurals, through events put on by the YFS, and much, much more! I don’t know too many jobs that offer extra-curricular opportunities like that!

Third, why just work when you can go to school AND work? York University has over a thousand work/study positions available for you to apply for. The beauty of a work/study position is that you will work a maximum of 15 hours during the year, you will receive more than minimum wage, and they are extremely flexible around exam time – remember, you’re a student first!

There are many more reasons, but I think I’ve made my point. And on a personal level, I simply love being a student at York, and even if I could rewind time, I wouldn’t have done anything different!

Standard

Leave a Reply

