Weekly Featured Article

The Best. Reading Week. Ever.

I am bursting with excitement about my reading week plans this year. Last year, I studied hard and used the time to get caught up in my courses (sort of, at least); however, this year, my reading week is going to be a lot different.

For those of you who I have not already told, I will be taking a trip across the world this reading week to the wonderful country of GERMANY. 

Germany borders France, Poland, Netherlands, Belgium, and a couple other countries, and it is considered by many to be one of the most beautiful countries in the world!

Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 3.16.01 PM

Why am I going there, you ask? 

Well, why not? 

I’ll be visiting my cousins, Daniel & Kris, who live and play hockey in Germany. I’ll be heading first to Munich (München), and then to Berlin, and some of the landmarks that I will check out along the way are…

Hofbraühaus

“The Hofbräuhaus am Platzl, Munich’s famous “hofbrauhaus” was founded in 1589 by the Duke of Bavaria, Wilhelm V. It is one of Munich’s oldest beer halls.” (Wikipedia)

Checkpoint Charlie

“Checkpoint Charlie (or “Checkpoint C”) was the name given by the Western Allies to the best-known Berlin Wall crossing point between East Berlin and West Berlin during the Cold War.” (Wikipedia)
Today, it is a tourist attraction, and the original booth is located in a museum not far from the original checkpoint.

Brandenburg Gate

“The Brandenburg Gate is a former city gate, rebuilt in the late 18th century as a neoclassical triumphal arch, and now one of the most well-known landmarks of Germany”

And, Of Course, HOCKEY GAMES!

My cousin Daniel plays for the Munich Red Bull…

And Kris plays for the Berlin Bears

Nice Mo there, bud

Needless to say, there will be lots of things to see – expect a full report after I return on February 23rd!

~ Christopher Ford

P.s. Make sure to comment below if you know of any other great places to see in Berlin and Munich!

Standard

5 thoughts on “The Best. Reading Week. Ever.

  1. Pingback: The Best. Reading Week. EVER. | redzone.scld.yorku.ca

  2. Pingback: All About My Germany Trip (Part 1) | The New York-er

Leave a Reply

