Weekly Featured Article

My (Not-in-Canada) Canada Day!

I did a bit of a bad thing this weekend…I left the country during Canada Day. I know what you’re thinking – Why, Chris? Why leave this beautiful country on the most important day of the year? Whyyyy? Relax, folks – I promise I had a good reason. For my family and I, July 1st has never just been Canada Day. In addition to being the birthday of our great Nation in the North, July 1st is also the birthdate of my brother, Justin!

IMG_1071

There he is – what a beauty, eh?

And so, for my brother’s birthday (and, you know, just ’cause), we hopped in the car and drove out to NYC for a weekend. None of us had ever been to New York City, and so it was a wonderful opportunity to go away for a weekend as a family and discover a new part of North America. I had only been to the United States once before (I was in a hockey tournament in Rochester many years ago), and so it was pretty exciting for me, although I did not know a whole lot about New York City going into the trip. We left early Saturday morning and arrived there in the early afternoon, and we stayed until noon on Tuesday (Canada Day). A few of the things I saw while I was there were…

The 9/11 Memorial

The 9/11 Memorial was a particularly difficult thing to see - the names of all those who died are written on plaques surrounding the monument, and the sheer number was simply horrifying.

The 9/11 Memorial was a particularly difficult thing to see – the names of all those who died are written on plaques surrounding the monument, and the sheer number was simply horrifying.

The new Freedom Tower

IMG_0911

This photo truly does not capture the enormity of this tower

The Statue of Liberty

IMG_0946

Little Italy

Pizza...Pasta...

Pizza…Pasta…

The United Nations

According to our tour guide, the flags of the member countries are only flown when the UN is in session (which means there had been a meeting of country representatives while I was there!!!)

According to our tour guide, the flags of the member countries are only flown when the UN is in session (which means there had been a meeting of country representatives while I was there!!!)

Times Square was probably the busiest place I have ever been to in my life. There were, by the estimate of my tour guide, about 100 000 people walking through the square and surrounding area at that time - and that isn't even at its busiest. No wonder the people who live in New York avoid it like the plague...

Times Square was probably the busiest place I have ever been to in my life. There were, by the estimate of my tour guide, about 100 000 people walking through the square and surrounding area at that time – and that isn’t even at its busiest. No wonder the people who live in New York avoid it like the plague…

The Empire State Building

Lit up for pride week, no less! :)

Lit up for pride week, no less! 🙂

Central Park

IMG_0962

This is just a small corner of Central Park – it actually stretches for more than 45 city blocks

The (new) New York Times Building

The former location of the New York Times was 229 West 43rd street in Manhattan. This building still stands tall and proud today, and is the namesake for an area which many call the "Crossroads of the Universe" - Times Square!

The former location of the New York Times was 229 West 43rd street in Manhattan. That building still stands tall and proud today, and is the namesake for an area which many call the “Crossroads of the Universe” – Times Square!

And much, much more! I hope to do a full blog post on my trip very soon (with all of my photos, of course)! However, after that wonderful weekend, it felt great to cross the border back home, to see the Maple Leaf flying up above rather than Stars and Stripes, and to see the amazing fireworks across the sky as we made the drive throughout southern Canada back home to Markham on Canada Day. I even had my “I AM CANADIAN” t-shirt on to celebrate. No matter how great New York had been – its history, its night life, its architecture, its larger-than-life everything – for me, there truly is no place like home. Happy (belated) Canada Day, Everyone! 🙂 ~ Christopher Ford

Lady Liberty & I...Yea, we hang out sometimes

Lady Liberty & I…Yea, we hang out sometimes

Standard

2 thoughts on “My (Not-in-Canada) Canada Day!

  1. Pingback: My (Not-in-Canada) Canada Day! | Media & Communications

Leave a Reply

